What if a structure exists when you need it and disappears when not in use

Just a quick post to say this is one of my first post’s of many within the next 48 hours that I have prepared. Sorry I haven’t been blogging much recently but with this and that and trying to complete my lecture review essay, I have been quite busy to say the least.

My next few posts will look at examples of affordable housing, Hauf houses, modular design, prefabricated structures, looking at family life and life expectancy and much more. I will also post some snippets from my lecture review work and my conclusion to this.

But here is just a quick post, about inflatable structures. This has no real relevance to my current work but found the statement from Lambert Kamps who believes ‘that a structure can exist when you need it and disappear when not in use.’ I think this structure is quite interesting as what would the world look like if buildings just suddenly started disappearing and appearing. I personally think in the future (quite far ahead in the future) with advance technology systems that this may just happen, but for now this designer just used the process of inflating.

These buildings / creations seemed alot more appealing and fun that most permanent buildings. They reminded me of bouncy castles, outdoor festivals and products aimed at children, but with more of an adult feel.

One example of these disappearing structures is ‘The ferry go round’, designed in collaboration with Tjeered Veenhoven. This is more of a boat than a building, but uses the principles of Kamps theory that something can simply be deflated when not in use. But aside from inflatable dingy and rafts that have been around for many years, this design is on a much larger scale.

Another example is Kamps own design for an inflatable bridge. But I can honestly say when I started reading and looking at these inflatable structures I thought about the time and hassle it would take to inflate these objects/buildings every time you need them. But Kamps declares this bridge can easily be inflated within 15 metres and can also safely span 15meteres carrying up to 12 people.

One of Kamps other influences is movement and his Space Maker is another interesting design. This is an interactive tent structure which interacts with the user. AS the user moves through the space they trip several sensors which then inflates the ceiling which when deflated is at a mere 1.2m to up to 3m. This continues to inflate until the user has moved out of the inflating space and then deflates itself. This shows that Kamps is not only interested in deflating things when they are not in use, but also when they are not occupied.

‘I thought it would be handy if buildings did not exist when they were not used, and to this building with air was my solution.’ Kamps.

Leave a Reply

