An Introduction to modular…


I am interested in developing a concept which will enable me to design a solution for affordable and adaptable housing. I would like to take a modular approach as I believe this will allow the design to tackle the issues and concepts more beneficially. I have therefore started to develop my research in order to get an idea of how certain prefabricated and modular methods can enable the design to develop. So over the next week I will be looking as a series of different examples of architects work and designs that inspire me and reflect the issues.

So my starting point for this I am going to start looking at modular designs for inspiration. Some of the key benefits to modular design are that it can reduce production costs, allows more flexibility to a design and enable you to add new modules to a current concept quite easily.

Modular design in buildings would allow you to complete the build quite easily as this could use the concept of pre-fabrication to construct the components off site. Using this process means that the onsite construction time can also be reduced and easily could be just a matter of days. It can also reduce costs as the majority of the build including electrical and plumbing installations, finishes to walls and floors and even bathrooms and kitchens can all be completed within the factory environment. Also in the sense of mass production modular homes also work well with skilled trades working along a production line to create the modular sections.

I also feel prefabricated homes at low costs will enable people to build their own in the style and location they have always wanted, something they may have never thought would be possible. It would create a new opening for first times buyers if presented at the right price. The availability of 100% mortgages is a thing of a past, and there is only a few left on the current market. Most company require at least a 10% mortgage deposit, but with people producing a 40% deposit getting the better deals. So with the average deposit needed for a first time buyer being £30,000 a solution of low cost modular housing could allow them to live mortgage free and enable them to develop their home over time.

From the above research I am able to see the benefits modular homes and how these reflect the issues I am trying to tackle within my design process. So watch this space for more blogging on prefabrication, modular and affordable homes.

 

Comments
2 Responses to “An Introduction to modular…”
  1. Thanks for another informative site. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

    • Thankyou for your recent comment, I always find it helpful (and nice) ro recieve comments of the people viewing my blog. If you have a look on the links tabs (at the top of my blog) you’ll be able to find links to some other sites that I feel very usefull. I also find alot of my information in the Grand Design, Frame, Icon and BD magazines.

Leave a Reply

